The joys of working for a small company –

Federated Media (where I work) has officially outgrown our current New York offices. I love it. We are moving shortly to a new location but in the meantime, this is the view from my desk in my new office which used to be the storage closet.

Waiting to move to new offices

Here are some other perks of working for an (almost) start-up:

– Everyone choses to work here. No punching the time clocks. This wasn’t the “easy” choice for any of us.

– No e-mail file size limit. Seriously, this is a huge benefit. I once was traveling internationally with no access to a computer for quite some time when my blackberry (and lifeline) told me my corporate mail database exceeded the size limit and I’d receive no more mails until I took care of the issue. Yet, I still had over 1GB from my free gmail account!

– What the business needs is what you focus on. Minimal corporate history means minimal encounters with traditions that conflict with future plans. Of course we have business plans but we are much more able to view opportunities and challenges for what they are without filtering it through the lens of tradition.

– Like being a parent of a young child, you are witnessing all sorts of firsts. You have firsts throughout your life but the frequency gets reduced as you grow older.

– Having your office in a closet is a positive thing rather than a scene from Office Space.

Many more but I’m working for a small company and need to get cracking.

7 Responses to “The joys of working for a small company –”


  1. 2 startup plans January 24, 2008 at 4:57 am

    Looking forward for the rest of your experience.I wish you best of luck my buddy.

  2. 4 moving services in indianapolis May 21, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    Choosing the right moving company to help you
    make a move in your near future is imperative if you want an easy and smooth move.
    That is reason for hiring moving companies that are
    able to help you transfer easier during this time. A period represents the length of
    time a business operates and is being used to calculate a sales forecast.

  3. 5 mouse click the up coming post December 14, 2014 at 2:19 am

    Every weekend i used tto visit this site, as i wish for enjoyment, for the reason that thos this
    site conations in fact pleassant funny stuff too.


  1. 1 The River » Blog Archive » links for 2008-01-24 Trackback on January 24, 2008 at 12:28 pm
  2. 2 Office move. « Continuous Beta by Pete Spande Trackback on February 24, 2008 at 5:47 pm

Leave a Reply

