50% of all Online Ad Clicks Come from 6% of the Population

A new study by Starcom Mediavest, Tacoda, and comscore points to a few very active clickers driving a huge amount of the click volume for ads.

Lots of thoughts and no time to put them into any cohesive order:

Who are these people?

This is partially the product of over aggressive creative that “tricked” people to click. Punch the Monkey anyone? If you’ve had a bad experience with and ad, you will stay away from clicking all ads.

I wonder how many of the clicks are accidents? I know I do this at least once a day.

Will the industry care? We’ve created a “cult of clicks.” I’ve talked for years about the need to measure success beyond the click through but still get excited by every program that blows away the average.

Ads that provide immediate value will draw attention and attract clicks. I’ve seen this at Federated Media over and over again with ads that bring people into existing conversations.

When I see a compelling ad, I Google the keyword I think maps to the product company. Why? A lot of landing pages at the other end of a click are closed environments and don’t give me what I want. I don’t want a landing page with only 1 or 2 options (a best practice for driving conversion to sale.) I’m guessing I’m not alone.

If an unrepresentative sample click on ads it would follow that an unrepresentative sample would click on invitations to participate in a brand effectiveness survey (i.e Dynamic Logic.) What now?

1 Response to “50% of all Online Ad Clicks Come from 6% of the Population”


  1. 1 Chas Edwards February 19, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Pete–The other interesting aspects of this report (to me) are that 1-optimizing campaigns to improve click-through rates actually reduces the brand effectiveness of the campaign, and 2-moving ads toward that click-happy six percent puts more of your advertising investment in front of an audience (demographically speaking) that you are, I’m guessing, least likely to want to reach.


Leave a Reply

